SA Geography – Provinces

favouriteLoadingAdd to favourites


The African population is made up of four broad groupings:

  • The Nguni, comprising the Zulu, Xhosa, Ndebele and Swazi people
  • The Sotho-Tswana, who include the Southern, Northern and Western Sotho (Tswana people)
  • The Tsonga
  • The Venda

White South Africans include:

  • Afrikaners, descendants of Dutch, German and French Huguenot who came to the country from the 17th century onwards.
  • English-speakers, descendants of settlers from the British Isles who came to the country from the late 18th century onwards.
  • Immigrants and descendents of immigrants from the rest of Europe, including Greeks, Portuguese, Eastern European Jews, Hungarians and Germans.

There are 11 official languages, to which it guarantees equal status. These are:

  • Afrikaans
  • English
  • isiNdebele
  • isiXhosa
  • isiZulu
  • Sesotho sa Leboa
  • Sesotho
  • Setswana
  • siSwati
  • Tshivenda
  • Xitsonga

Eastern Cape (Google Earth map)

Eastern CapeClick to enlarge

Free State (Google Earth map)

Free StateClick to enlarge

Gauteng (Google Earth map)

GautengClick to enlarge

Kwazulu Natal (Google Earth map)

Kwazulu NatalClick to enlarge

Limpopo (Google Earth map)

LimpopoClick to enlarge

Mpumalanga (Google Earth map)

MpumalangaClick to enlarge

Northern Cape (Google Earth map)

Northern CapeClick to enlarge

North West (Google Earth map)

North WestClick to enlarge

Western Cape (Google Earth map)

Western CapeClick to enlarge