Charles Dickens

HeartMath: Inner Balance sensor for iOS

Back to: Missing Manuals

Dickens: Charles John Huffam aka Boz

Born: 7 February 1812 in Portsmouth, England
Died: 9 June 1870 in Higham, Kent, England


‘Boz’ was the pseudonym under which Dickens was first published in 1833. Oliver Twist was his first novel which was published as a serial in monthly instalments. Dickens’ novels expose the conditions of mid-19 Century (Victorian) living for the poor and the working class. The three books named below are probably the easiest to read. Don’t be frightened by the language – the sentences are complex as was the style at the time – instead just let the words flow through your mind creating the pictures Dickens is painting for you.
It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold: when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.

Selected Bibliography

Over 20 Books including:-

  • Oliver Twist 1837
  • A Christmas Carol 1843
  • David Copperfield‎ 1849

Sketches by Boz 1836

  • The Pickwick Papers 1836
  • Nicholas Nickleby 1838
  • Master Humphrey’s Clock 1840
  • The Old Curiosity Shop 1840
  • Barnaby Rudge 1841
  • American Notes 1842
  • Martin Chuzzlewit 1843
  • The Chimes 1844
  • The Cricket on the Hearth 1845
  • The Battle of Life 1846
  • Dombey and Son 1846
  • Pictures from Italy 1846
  • The Haunted Man and the Ghost’s Bargain 1848
  • Bleak House 1852
  • Child’s History of England 1852
  • Hard Times1854
  • Little Dorrit 1855
  • A Tale of Two Cities 1859
  • Great Expectations 1860
  • Our Mutual Friend 1864
  • The Mystery of Edwin Drood 1870